Arrested Development Season 5?

I just read on Thursday that the full cast of Arrested Development has signed on for Season 5, an article that opened with:

““Arrested Development” fans, prepare yourselves: Season 5 is all but inevitable.”

OK, but do we really need another season?  It sounds like the producers are working hard to create a season that is a little more “organic” than the last season in 2013…the gist I get out of it is that it will likely end up being closer to the first three seasons in terms of scope, rather than the slightly disjointed season 4.

I liked season 4, but I understand why some people didn’t.  It had a very similar style to the original show, but deviated in that it was presented out of order with a lot of information purposefully withheld until the later episodes.  If you were expecting something identical to seasons 1-3, you’d be disappointed.

Frankly I thought it was smart to try something different.  I heard that there was an edit in the works that presented the series in chronological order, but based on the way it was filmed/edited originally, I’m not sure that’s even possible.  I think it might have been boring if it had used the same formula as the previous seasons.  In fact, I would have been happy if they ended it with season 3.  I certainly wasn’t disappointed with that ending.

I won’t be rushing to watch it but likely will if it’s a shorter season.  I think season 4 ended up being a bit on the long side.

Leave a Reply

