Goals For 2017

open-road-757949_1280Cloudy Open Road – Original photo: https://pixabay.com/p-757949/?no_redirect

I hesitate to make these kinds of posts because then it (technically) means I need to publicly follow up on them.  But I recognized that I didn’t actually set any goals for myself this year, so in search of content, this seems to be a good place and time to set them.

  1. Remain organized.
    Sometime over a year and a half ago, I started a Bullet Journal because I needed a way to become organized – something that I couldn’t figure out digitally despite all the available tools.  I’ve found the Bullet Journal system to be amazingly helpful, and have molded it to be useful particularly to me.  My first journal is almost complete, so the goal this year is to just keep it up.  I’m not worried about adding complexities to it, but will probably change things up a bit in my new book.
  2. Be a positive example.
    Too often we are quick to complain and vent on social media.  This isn’t something I do a lot, but am completely guilty of it from time to time.  The reason this came to mind – last week I had a poor experience at a fast food restaurant, and considered posting about it in comparison to my experiences working in fast food.  I decided not to.  I want to be more willing to forgive, and be more patient, putting things in perspective.  If I’m driven enough to complain, then I should go through official channels and do so (such as company surveys, etc.).
  3. Lose the weight.
    This one is simple.  I lost quite a bit of weight in the past, but I’ve put it back on.  The goal is to take it off, and keep it off.  This will always be a struggle.
  4. Learn more about driving social media engagement.
    I’d like to get more engagement from social media for both my podcast and this blog.  My goal for this blog specifically is to get people reading my stuff and talking to me / asking questions.
  5. Write more.
    This is the general purpose of this blog.  There will be some things I’ll write that won’t see the light of day on the blog, because I write them in a notebook, but I’ll do my best to transpose anything that I don’t type to this space.  Currently I am posting something at least once every day, and I’m a day ahead.  That won’t last forever – there will be some days that will have either really short entries or no entries.  Just trying to maintain momentum right now.
  6. Read more.
    Technically speaking, I met my reading goal last year according to Goodreads.  Great, but I’ve been stuck reading the same book since April of last year.  Yikes.  So most of the “read more” goal is more about making time to read, rather than just reading more.

Follow-up on these items will take place quarterly – next update being sometime in April.  Heck, let’s mark it.  April 18th, 2017.  I’ll start a draft post as a reminder.

One thought on “Goals For 2017”

Leave a Reply

